My New-Old Friend

These are my memories of you.
Orange juice, after a strenuous
game of boisterous
Football.
After which we sat, and talked, and talked some more, and held hands,
Two aunties swishing their dupattas as they walked by,
Their upturned noses,
Disdainful glances, (through gold-rimmed glasses)
And how we laughed!
We started speaking because of our love of food (junk, obviously)
And we first met each other.
And we couldn’t take our eyes off each other.
As we zoooooooomed through the streets of the city,
Vrooooom!
Lunch, then (junk, obviously)
And one giant cup of strong, chilled, fizzy, sticky, sticky soda
A glass bottle that traveled across the seas from
Dubai, and that red scarf
Where I was The King,
The Master Of The Earth
With a painted mustache on my face.
And you pretended to be my not-so-humble servant,
Bumbling about with that huge umbrella.
And how we laughed!
And you watched as I took your watch.
(I still wear it everyday, you know.)
Steady eyes boring deep, gauging my reaction.
I was pleasantly surprised.
The fort near the sea, where we took so many glorious pictures
And memories, near the wall
Your results, we stalked in the mall
And you spoke to my mom.
Show-off. How would I forget that, darling?
Five hour midnight conversations
Over things as trivial as spiders on my wall
And skeletons in the closet, and high-school crushes,
Teachers, your favorite (wink wink)
And music, you were so ‘patient’ with me
And how we just had to try out that chicken roll.
And scared me again,
Over this fizzy, half-empty, sticky, sticky, sticky bottle of soda
You messed my hair. I’m not going to forgive you for that.
Oh, how we laughed!
Your shoes, those black ones,
I crafted, you loved
To see me do that, and you would smile
At whatever I did, I remember
How you pulled my cheeks as I sang (horribly off-tune, of course)
And brushed that stray lock off my face
And I blushed, and you would smile.
You taught me to smile, (did you know that?) all the time,
(and crack a stupid joke whenever I could)
You taught me what laughter is,
What a true best friend can be.
And how to mean every word I said,
And still be absolutely sane-insane.
Enjoy, what life is,
You defined vibrant, you defined life
We left our demons behind
And how we laughed! Without a care in this desolate, dreary world.
The world was too slow for us. We never really understood them, I felt.
We were more than friends.
You said it.
I knew it.
I was scared,
To admit it.
I’m so sorry I let you down.
I let our moment,
Our moment
Pass by,
And I ignored it
I hurt you,
I know. I’m so sorry.
You’re away now, pursuing passionately your dreams
The light
Still bright
In your eyes (don’t let it fade, ever)
And the last day, before you went,
I didn’t want to let you go…
Do you understand?
We don’t talk now, but
My drunk friend, if I could, I would
Spend the last five minutes of my life with you,
Talking about t-shirts, and just drinking in your laughter,
As we would sit bare-foot in the sand, sharing a half-empty, (you would say half-full) bottle of sticky, fizzy soda, with lots of bubbles.

3 thoughts on “My New-Old Friend

Talk to me!

