With An Undertone Of Love

(My love for music and the unspoken connect that I shared with my close friend over music inspired me to write this.)

Photo Source : Etsy(dot)com

Photo Source : Etsy(dot)com

You were D major, so happy, vivace,
I was just A minor, sad and alone
Trying to be expressive, trying to be graceful
The sole relative I had was C, but she was crazy – she only saw the white and refused to admit sometimes in life there was black notes too
Reluctantly she admitted to B flat.

But you became part of my melody, my rhythm – and when, I didn’t even realize.
Were you the anacrusis I needed, in my crisis?
Re of sunlight,
You taught me to C sharp, read between the lines
We worked out our harmony in the cacophony
You were my leading note
With you I was perfect
You helped me overcome every clef
My accidentals; I wasn’t proud of them
You showed me to embrace them as my naturals
And let them be my key signature
You smoothed them out, legato, legato
With you I never wavered, I never quavered
You taught me to be forte, be dominant, express myself
But ma non troppo, ma non tanto
You became the grace of my notes
When I was with you, I trilled, like a bird
I beamed when you tied me to yourself
Reluctant to let me go
At every turn you held my hand
But sometimes even you slurred
I was just scared, I thought I wouldn’t be able to handle those phrases of yours
Sometimes when you galloped away
I held you – tenuto, pause – taught you to enjoy and savour the moments
We were in sync babe, we moved in parallel motion
You held the key to my heart
Amoroso, amoroso, we progressed in unison

Finally when we reached our crescendo
You held me so high, so high on the high C
I looked back down and saw what a long way I’ve come from what I used to be
Just A flat minor

Little did I know that you only sang falsetto

What went wrong I still don’t realize
Maybe I hit the wrong note
Maybe I tapped the wrong time
But sforzando!
And you were gone.

Our cadence wasn’t perfect, babe
But that’s the beauty of it
Maybe it was temporary, the rest
May be it was necessary, for our song to be the best

Con forza, con fuoco, risoluto
You came into my life
Now you’re gone
I’m beat, downtempo,
I just hang around, hunting desperately for the Da capo, the repeat, the reprise
Even though it may sound as the same ending, all I want back is my time with you
My trembling voice comes and goes, forte-piano, forte-piano
All is morendo now, sotto voce, subdued.

12 thoughts on “With An Undertone Of Love

  1. Oh man. I love this. I never thought musical terms could be used in a string of words like this for something that wasn’t terrible puns!
    And hey, I didn’t need to use the glossary to understand what you meant either! :)
    Thanks for this. Deep and musical. Love it.

    Like

Talk to me!

