Addiction

You are a drug, my drug, my creation
And now I’m addicted to you.
I’m admitting it, finally.
I’m not ashamed to say it.
It’s not a sign of weakness, it’s a sign of strength.
When I’m away from you, when you’re not around me,
I know how horribly wrong I am about you
How terrible you can be to me,
What a pathetic influence you are
No thanks, I’d like to maintain my distance
Making me compromise on my independence
Talking to you diminishes my confidence,
I don’t know who I am anymore!
But I’m drawn to you.
You are my elixir.
And I come back.
You know I always will.
So you take advantage of it.
This is what you, your pseudo-love has done to me
Can’t you see?
I’m ravaged, pale, starving
Yet now you peacefully sleep
You won’t dream about me.
You won’t imagine me lying next to you, cuddling
In your arms, getting comfortable just as I did that evening
I’m mourning
Alone, all alone
I’m gasping, for air
Panting, I can’t breathe
Choking,
Screaming hoarsely
Your name on my lips
My head is dizzy
Sudden influx of memories
I don’t want to remember them
I try so hard to push them out of my mind
Rapid, shallow, irregular
I will crave you, your presence
Even though I know
You will be the end of me.

Talk to me!

